The League of Gentle Men Drink French Wine

The League of Gentle Men had its last official wine dinner of the year at Gramercy Tavern.  We decided to do French wines: Champagne, Burgundy, and Bordeaux .Michael Anthony, the executive chef, matched each wine with a different course. There were six members at the dinner.

 We started as we always do with champagne. This time it was the Dom Perignon 1996 Rose’. 1996 was a great year for Champagne and this wine proved it. There were aromas of pink grapefruit and pomegranate and it was fresh and fruity. The second champagne was Krug 1982, also a great year for champagne.  

The Wines

One of our members always brings Krug. The 1982 was elegant with good fruit but still had that Krug structure and body. It was a great food wine. These were two of the best champagnes I had last year!

 White Wines

 Meursault Clos de la Barre 1994- Domaine des Comtes Lafon (Cote de Beaune)-This wine was a complete surprise for me. It is difficult to explain because to me it tasted so good that it would be very difficult to put it in words. I just sat back and enjoyed it.

 Puligny-Montrachet  Les Combettes 1986 – Robert Ampeau (Cote de Beaune). It was showing very well with great flavors and aromas.

Red Wines

 Bonnes Mares 1969- Leroy (Cote de Nuits)-This is the third time that I have been lucky enough to taste this wine in the last three months. It is everything a great Burgundy should be.

 Richebourg 1972- Domaine de la Romanee Conti (Cote de Nuits)–it was showing its age a bit but still a great wine in what some might say was not a great year.

 Ausone (magnum) 1988 (Saint Emilion) 50% Merlot and 50% Cabernet Franc–I believe that it is one of the few red wines that do not undergo malalactic fermentation. It could not have been better.

One of our members always brings a dessert wine but does not tell us in advance the name of the wine or the producer. He always waits until we are finished with all the other wines before he brings it out .I believed that I had copied down the name. The wine was a 76er(year) from Germany, but when I tried to look up the name on-line, I kept on getting the German phone book white pages. No one seems to remember the name, but it was very good and I will try to find the name of the producer. The wine was a 76er BA Weingut Gernot Gysher- next time I will write down the names of all the wines before I begin to drink

4 Comments

Filed under French Wine

4 responses to “The League of Gentle Men Drink French Wine

  1. im regularly roaming on the online world almost all of the working day hence I possess a tendency to peruse a great deal, which isnt usually a beneficial matter as nearly all of the internet websites I view are composed of unproductive nonsense copied from various other websites a thousand times, but I gotta give you props this website is genuinely enjoyable and even provides a bit of genuine content, for that reason cheers for stopping the trend of simply just copying other individual’s blogs and forums, in case you ever wanna try a couple of hands of myspace poker together just send me a message – you have my e mail🙂

  2. Gary Keen

    I would love to buy some German 76errap but don’t know where to find it. Please help.

Leave a Reply

