Drinking Krug on a Very Cold Night

It seemed like one of those beer commercials that you see on television.  A freezing cold winter’s night, a man walking alone (in this case me), he approaches a door of an apartment and he hears music, laughter and the sounds of people having a good time. He opens the door and is handed a glass of beer? NO, he is handed a glass of Krug Grand Cuveè Champagne!

IMG_4743

As I stood in the well-appointed apartment in Greenwich Village owned by the makers of Krug sipping my Champagne, I said to myself, for Krug I would come out on the coldest of nights.  Krug was introducing its 2003 vintage and they were doing it with a lot of style and a lot of Krug.

The Grand Cuvee is made from a blend of 120 wines from 10 different years, the youngest dating from 2003 and the oldest from 1988.  After a few glasses of the Grand Cuvee, it was time for the 2003. This was a difficult vintage in many respects, and it was pointed out that the harvest began on August 23, the earliest since 1822. Difficult vintage or not, they made great champagne I and was more than happy to have a glass or two before my walk home.

Krug just may be my favorite Champagne

 

2 Comments

Filed under Krug

2 responses to “Drinking Krug on a Very Cold Night

  1. Hard to pick my favorite Champagne. Which one are you offering me?

  2. You are so easy to please, eh …!

Leave a Reply

